Sourcegraph Cody vs Tabnine: pricing, features and which to choose

Plans, prices, deployment options, strengths and limits for Sourcegraph Cody vs Tabnine, taken from each company's pricing page, docs and changelog. Updated October 2026.

Sourcegraph CodyTabnine
Sourcegraph Cody logo

Sourcegraph Cody

Coding AI Tools

Sourcegraph Cody is an AI coding assistant for engineering organizations that need code search, repository context, chat, completions, and enterprise controls. Cody Enterprise is sales-led, while Sourcegraph’s broader Enterprise plan starts at $16,000 per year with a minimum annual contract. Cody Free and Cody Pro ended in July 2025, leaving no current individual entry plan.

Tabnine logo

Tabnine

Coding AI Tools

Tabnine is an AI coding platform for developers and enterprise engineering teams that need code completions, chat, repository context, agents, and private deployment. Code Assistant costs $39 per user per month with annual billing, while Agentic Platform costs $59. The pricing page does not show a free plan, and Tabnine-provided model access adds consumption charges.

Tricentis acquired Tabnine on July 30, 2026. Existing customers continue receiving support, while Tabnine technology is being integrated into the Tricentis Agentic Quality Engineering Platform.

Quick comparison

FeatureSourcegraph CodyTabnine
CategoryCoding AI ToolsCoding AI Tools
Main useEnterprise coding AIEnterprise AI coding
Pricing modelPaid onlyPaid only
Free plan No No
Entry paid planStarting at $16,000/year (Enterprise)$39/user/month, annual subscription (Code Assistant)
PlatformsIDE and webIDE & CLI
Open source No No
Self-hosted Yes Yes
Public API No Yes
Profile updatedOctober 2026October 2026

Pricing plans

Every public plan, as listed on each company's pricing page.

Sourcegraph Cody

  • EnterpriseStarting at $16,000/year

    Minimum annual contract. Includes AI-feature credits that scale with team size; exact Cody access and volume pricing are customized.

Tabnine

  • Code Assistant$39/user/month, annual subscription

    Completions, chat, major IDEs, Jira integration, security controls, private deployment, and support. Own-model usage is unlimited; Tabnine-provided models add provider cost plus 5%.

  • Agentic Platform$59/user/month, annual subscription

    Adds agents, CLI, Context Engine, Coaching Guidelines, and MCP connections. Own-model usage is unlimited; Tabnine-provided models add provider cost plus 5%.

Strengths and limits

Sourcegraph Cody

  • Repository retrieval enforces user read permissions.
  • Enterprise deployment supports hosted and self-hosted configurations.
  • Sourcegraph combines Cody with search, Deep Search, and APIs.
  • Agentic chat can gather code and terminal context.
  • Free and Pro plans ended on July 23, 2025.
  • Enterprise pricing and Cody entitlements require a sales contract.
  • Self-hosted use still sends snippets to a third-party cloud service.

Tabnine

  • Private deployment includes SaaS, VPC, on-premises, and air-gapped options.
  • Agentic Platform connects coding agents to repositories and developer tools.
  • Customers can use their own model endpoint without Tabnine token charges.
  • Tabnine says customer code is not stored, used for training, or shared.
  • Current paid plans require annual subscriptions at $39 or $59 monthly.
  • Tabnine-provided model usage adds provider charges plus five percent.
  • The acquisition creates uncertainty around future packaging and roadmap priorities.

Which should you choose?

Choose Sourcegraph Cody if

  • Engineering organizations with many repositories and strict access controls.
  • Teams already using Sourcegraph Search and code navigation.
  • Enterprises requiring single-tenant cloud or self-hosted deployment.
  • Administrators that need centralized model and access controls.

Look elsewhere if

  • Individuals seeking a current free Cody plan.
  • Small teams requiring transparent monthly pricing.
  • Developers primarily seeking an autonomous local coding agent.

Choose Tabnine if

  • Enterprise teams requiring VPC, on-premises, or air-gapped deployment.
  • Developers wanting repository-aware chat and agent workflows inside their IDE.
  • Organizations standardizing coding guidance across repositories and teams.
  • Teams connecting AI coding work to Jira, Git, CI, and developer tools.

Look elsewhere if

  • Individual hobbyists seeking a prominently documented free plan.
  • Teams unwilling to manage model consumption charges or annual commitments.
  • Buyers needing a settled post-acquisition roadmap before broad adoption.

Sourcegraph Cody logo Sourcegraph Cody in brief

Sourcegraph Cody is an AI coding assistant made by Sourcegraph for organizations working with large codebases. Sourcegraph introduced Cody in Sourcegraph 5.0 in March 2023, and Cody 1.0 became generally available in December 2023. Cody uses Sourcegraph code intelligence to answer questions, generate code, and suggest editor completions. Cody Free and Cody Pro ended July 23, 2025, while Cody Enterprise continued. Sourcegraph and Amp became separate companies in December 2025. Sourcegraph focuses on code search and enterprise infrastructure, while Amp focuses on frontier coding agents. Cody remains an enterprise capability, rather than a current self-serve developer subscription. Its positioning therefore centers on governed access, repository scale, and organizational deployment rather than casual individual experimentation or a low-cost personal plan.

Cody handles questions, completion requests, and edits inside supported editors and Sourcegraph interfaces. Sourcegraph retrieves relevant code snippets and enforces the user’s read permissions during retrieval. Cody supports completions, chat, code explanations, documentation, unit-test generation, quick fixes, and natural-language code search. Agentic chat can gather context from code search, files, the terminal, the web, and OpenCtx providers. Terminal commands are among the available tools for agentic context gathering. Enterprise administrators can control access through Sourcegraph’s role-based controls, and Cody supports multi-repository context for up to 10 repositories. This combination lets teams apply existing repository permissions while giving developers contextual assistance across larger software estates.

Cody is a poor fit for an individual seeking a current free assistant or transparent monthly pricing. The FAQ says there is no public-facing Cody API, and self-hosted deployments still send snippets to a third-party cloud service for model interactions. GitHub Copilot has a clearer self-serve route, while Cursor and Claude Code target accessible local coding workflows. Cody’s strongest case is permission-aware, multi-repository context combined with Sourcegraph Search and enterprise deployment choices. Choose Cody Enterprise when repository governance and centralized administration matter most. Choose Copilot, Cursor, or Claude Code when individual access and local agentic workflows matter more. Organizations should also weigh provider handling, contract terms, and deployment requirements before adoption.

Read the full Sourcegraph Cody review

Tabnine logo Tabnine in brief

Tabnine is an AI software development platform for individual developers and enterprise engineering teams. It combines code completions, IDE chat, codebase context, agentic workflows, and a command line agent. The company says the platform supports major IDEs, languages, cloud providers, and model providers. Tabnine was founded in 2013 as Codota, and its first AI code completion for a Java IDE appeared in 2018. Tricentis acquired Tabnine on July 30, 2026. Tabnine says its technology is becoming part of the Tricentis Agentic Quality Engineering Platform and that existing customers will continue receiving support. Financial terms were not disclosed. CB Insights lists $63.05 million in total funding, although Tabnine does not publish a current customer count on the cited product pages.

A typical Tabnine workflow starts in a supported IDE, where inline completion suggests the current line, multiple lines, or a complete function. IDE chat can explain code, generate tests, refactor files, and answer questions using connected repository context. Agentic Platform adds autonomous agents with optional user oversight, customizable Coaching Guidelines, and Model Context Protocol connections. These connections can reach Git operations, testing frameworks, linters, Docker, package managers, CI/CD systems, Jira, Confluence, databases, and APIs. The included Tabnine CLI runs in local environments, remote sessions, and CI pipelines, handling code changes, refactoring, and pull requests. Context Engine connections cover Bitbucket, GitHub, GitLab, and Perforce, while Jira Cloud and Data Center can inform assistant responses.

Tabnine is best suited to organizations that require VPC, on-premises, or fully air-gapped deployment, repository-aware assistance, and controls for permissions, provenance, analytics, and model access. Its $39 starting price and separate provider charges are less suitable for hobbyists seeking a documented free allowance. GitHub Copilot offers a broad assistant connected to GitHub and common IDEs, Amazon Q Developer fits teams working heavily with AWS services, and Sourcegraph Cody emphasizes large-codebase context. Tabnine's acquisition requires buyers to confirm product packaging, support commitments, and roadmap direction before a broad rollout. Choose Tabnine when private infrastructure and organizational context matter more than a lower-cost individual plan.

Read the full Tabnine review

Frequently asked questions

How do Sourcegraph Cody vs Tabnine compare on price?

Sourcegraph Cody has no free plan, and its first paid plan (Enterprise) is listed at Starting at $16,000/year. Tabnine has no free plan, and its first paid plan (Code Assistant) is listed at $39/user/month, annual subscription. Prices are from each company's pricing page and can change, so check before you buy.

Which has a free plan, Sourcegraph Cody vs Tabnine?

None of them has a permanent free plan. Sourcegraph Cody starts at Starting at $16,000/year. Tabnine starts at $39/user/month, annual subscription.

Can I self-host or integrate Sourcegraph Cody vs Tabnine?

None of them is open source. Sourcegraph Cody and Tabnine can run on your own servers. Tabnine offers a public API.

How much does Sourcegraph Cody cost?

Cody has no current public individual price. Sourcegraph ended Cody Free and Cody Pro in July 2025. Cody remains available to Enterprise customers through a sales-led agreement. Sourcegraph’s current Enterprise pricing starts at $16,000 per year, but that covers the broader platform and does not state a standalone Cody seat price. Contract terms determine Cody access, credits, deployment, and support.

Is there a free Cody plan?

No current Cody Free plan is available. Sourcegraph stopped new Free and Pro signups on June 25, 2025, and discontinued those plans on July 23, 2025. Enterprise Starter also lost Cody. Evaluators should treat Cody as an enterprise capability rather than expect a free trial or individual subscription. Sourcegraph continues supporting Cody Enterprise.

How much does Tabnine cost?

The current pricing page lists Code Assistant at $39 per user per month with an annual subscription and Agentic Platform at $59 per user per month with annual billing. Customers using Tabnine-provided models also pay reserved token consumption based on the provider's price plus a five percent handling fee. Using an organization's own model endpoint is listed as unlimited.

Does Tabnine have a free plan?

The current pricing page presents Code Assistant and Agentic Platform as paid plans and does not show a free tier. It also does not list a student plan or a separate business plan. Earlier Tabnine pages may describe older offers, but those prices are not the current published pricing structure. Buyers should confirm any trial terms with Tabnine.

Related comparisons

Sources